Welcome to the Wildlife Veterinary section

of the Wildlife Disease Association

Minimize
News and Announcements



Trilateral Wildlife Health Webinar Series

The American Association of Wildlife Veterinarians (AAWV), the WDA Wildlife Veterinary Section (WVS) and The Wildlife Society Wildlife Disease Working Group (TWS WDWG) have the pleasure of announcing the next Trilateral Wildlife Health Webinar Series, on November 19th, at 12 PM US ET. This event is held every other month and feature the work the members of these organizations do every day.

Key Date: November 19th, at 12 PM US ET

Title: “Adaptive potential and conservation in the face of a unique disease: transmissible cancer in Tasmanian devils”

Synopsis: Tasmanian devils suffer from a transmissible cancer, called devil facial tumor disease (DFTD), that behaves as an infectious disease and threatens the persistence of the species.  Based on genomic and other evidence, devils are rapidly evolving in the face of this disease, although a second transmissible cancer has also begun to spread in this species.  Our results can inform management of natural and captive devil populations to maintain adaptive potential in the face of transmissible cancers and other threats.

Presenter:

Paul Hohenlohe, PhD

Paul A. Hohenlohe earned a B.S. from Williams College and Ph.D. from the University of Washington. He has worked as a conservation biologist for federal agencies and currently is an Associate Professor at the University of Idaho.  His research focuses on evolutionary genetics and genomics across a wide range of species, with applications to conservation.

For more information and Zoom details click HERE



Meet your 2020-2022 WVS Officers! 

PDF
WORD


Thank you to the following members for their additional donations in support of the section:

Patricia Latas
David McRuer
Kay Mehren
Anna Meredith
Erica Miller
Felicia Nutter
Emi Saito
Jennifer Showers


October 2016:
Important: Notes from the Chair


March 2016:
Updated WVS ByLaws
  
Minimize
WVS Section Information


 Officers of the Wildlife Veterinary Section

Chair       Sonia Hernandez         shernz@uga.edu
Secretary  Sandie Black    SandieB@calgaryzoo.com
Treasurer  Julia Burco    Julia.d.burco@state.or.us
Communications      Michelle Kneeland    mkneel02@gmail.com
Student Representative   Daniella Guzman    Guzman.143@osu.edu


2020-2022 Officer biographies



Advisory Board of the Wildlife Veterinary Section

Gerardo Acosta-Jamett        Gerardo.acosta@uach.cl 
Mark W. Atkinson   matkinson@wcs.org
Marc Cattet    marc.cattet@usask.ca 
Walt Cook    wcook@cvm.tamu.edu 
Cindy Driscoll   cdriscoll@dnr.state.md.us 
Colin Gillin    colin.m.gillin@state.or.us 
Sonia M. Hernandez    shernz@uga.edu 
Clay Hilton    clayton.hilton@tamuk.edu 
Chris Walzer   chris.walzer@vetmeduni.ac.at


Wildlife Veterinary Section Social Media

Facebook
(for Members only)

LinkedIn Group
Join, post, ask questions, provide opinions, …etc