About Our Sections

The WDA Constitution provides for membership subdivisions or Sections for members who have common scientific interests or share common geographical boundaries. A number of WDA sections have been organized over the last several decades.

The Australasian Section, established in 1973, was the first geographic WDA section. The Wildlife Veterinary Section was established in 1980 and is comprised of WDA members that have an interest in the application of veterinary science to wildlife conservation. It is the largest Section in WDA with over 450 members.

Other geographic sections that have thrived include the Nordic Section established in 1987 and the European Section established in 1993. The Africa Middle-east Section was approved in 2002 and was quite active until 2008 when a series of unfortunate events led to its becoming inactive. It was revived in 2014 and is currently quite active. The Latin American Section was approved by WDA Council in 2011 and the newest WDA Section, the Asia-Pacific Section, was formed in 2017-18 and approved by Council for operations beginning in 2019.

Each of these sections elects their own officers, holds a seat on the WDA Council, convenes meetings within their respective geographic regions, and publishes newsletters. For further information on the activities of various WDA Sections one can go to the WDA Website, click on ‘Sections’ and explore.

The WDA parent body remits $15 per member (any category) back to geographic Sections to help fund their operations and activities. Some sections also charge dues (and some don’t) and use this income to support regional conferences and other operations. Regional (section) conferences allow more focus on specific diseases and problems, allow for use of regional languages, customs and opportunities to really get to know colleagues. WDA members from any area can attend regional WDA (Section) conferences.

The sections of WDA unite common interests and bridge disparate geographic regions. The WDA encourages the formation of geographic sections.

Please read our Sections Frequently Asked Questions (PDF

WDA Sections


African Middle East


Latin America


Wildlife Veterinary