Language Translation
Wisconsin Student Chapter

Wisconsin Student Chapter (WiscWDA)

Faculty Advisor: Michael Samuel, MS, PhD – Associate Professor of Wildlife Ecology

                                    University of Wisconsin - Madison

                                    608 – 263 – 1598 ; mdsamuel@wisc.edu


President:
Miranda Torkelson, mrtorkelson@wisc.edu

Vice President: Julia Poje, poje2@wisc.edu

Treasurer: Kaylyn Goertz, kgoertz@wisc.edu

Secretary: Melanie Iverson, mmiverson@wisc.edu

Event-coordinator: Shannon Rudin, rudin2@wisc.edu

Undergrad representative: KM Barnett, kmbarnett2@wisc.edu

Vet student representative: Stephanie Kurth, skurth@wisc.edu



Mission:
Increase awareness of the health and diseases of wild animals in relation to their biology, conservation and ecology, among current and future wildlife health ambassadors.

Objectives:

  • Hold monthly meetings with invited guest speakers that represent diverse area of wildlife health, disease, and ecology.
  • Organize field trips to expose students to local wildlife health resources: International Crane Foundation, National Wildlife Health Center, Aldo Leopold Foundation, etc.
  • Coordinate joint meetings and activities with the WI TWS Student Chapter.
  • Compile resources, news, and job postings with links on the WiscWDA webpage (www.wiscwda.org)
  • Build a community of students and professionals interested in wildlife health at the University of Wisconsin and in the broader Madison and out-state area to facilitate education and networking.


Email: wiscwda@gmail.com
Website:
www.wiscwda.org
Facebook: www.facebook.com/wiscwda

Number of members: 30

Recommendation to Council by the SAC: Approval