Welcome to the Wildlife Veterinary Section of the Wildlife Disease Association


April 2015

The WDA-WVS logo contest is open!

And there is an awesome prize for the winner – a lovely 11’ x 17” wildlife photo donated by our Newsletter Editor and wildlife photographer, Nina Schoch and WVS will frame it for the winner.

So get your creative juices flowing, and send your designs, ideas, questions about the logo to WVS President Anne Justice-Allen AJusticeAllen@azgfd.gov

Please aim to get your designs in to Anne by June 1 (or email Anne to request more time).


WDA Meeting in Australia

There will be a WVS section gathering or meeting at the WDA meeting in Australia.  Location and day/time TBA.



Starting thinking of items for the next newsletter: 

If you’d like to provide wildlife veterinary-related stories and/or pictures for the next newsletter, please send items to our Newsletter Editor, Dr. Nina Schoch  AdkWildVet@verizon.net


In particular, we’re looking for some good photos of:

•  wildlife veterinarians/wildlife veterinary professional working on animals,

•  an interesting wildlife disease case,

•  and a “ID this disease” cases.

•  anything else you think might be of interest to WVS members.

Officers and Board Members

Officers of the Wildlife Veterinary Section
Chairperson   Anne Justice-Allen    ajustice-allen@azgfd.gov
Secretary  Holly Ernest    hernest@uwyo.edu
Treasurer  Nancy Boedeker    boedekern@si.edu
Editor   Nina Schoch    bschoched@verizon.net
Student Rep.   Sarah Alexander    sara.alexander@aucklandzoo.co.nz

2014-2016 Officer biographies

Advisory Board of the Wildlife Veterinary Section
Gerardo Acosta-Jamett    Gerardo.acosta@uach.cl 
Mark W. Atkinson   matkinson@wcs.org
Marc Cattet    marc.cattet@usask.ca 
Walt Cook    wcook@cvm.tamu.edu 
Cindy Driscoll   cdriscoll@dnr.state.md.us 
Colin Gillin    colin.m.gillin@state.or.us 
Sonia M. Hernandez    shernz@uga.edu 
Clay Hilton    clayton.hilton@tamuk.edu 
Chris Walzer   chris.walzer@vetmeduni.ac.at